Aces

Perched on my rooftop, I zero my scope
My target is nearly in view
And when his face is in my sights
It was someone I always knew

The colonel was my target now?
The one who trains me still?
This has to be another test
If he’s the one I kill

He taught me how to play Poker
He always beat me quick
“And now it’s time to draw a card”
He’d say without a trick

And now I’m charged to bring him down
Or let him go in peace
He’d never know if I was here
The threat of me could cease

I chambered one of my best rounds
A choice that feels so hard
I close my eyes and say aloud
“It’s time to draw a card.”

Whaddya think?

