Hailstones

Darkened skies surround me
A familiar scene
Depressing words grace the page
Angry hearts lash out

But a mindset has changed
I am sick of feeling this way
As hailstones batter my body
I am forced to fight my mind

The wind is howling
The rain tears at my flesh
I shout my frustrations
To un-hearing ears

The same old song
You all know these words
Futures past
The lyrics don’t bend

A twist of pain inside my heart
The hammer on my soul
The fury in my mind
As hailstones crush my bones

Not good enough
Not quite
Archaic thought
Getting warmer

I fall to my knees
Splashing in mud
I sob to myself softly
As hailstones smash my mind

Whaddya think?

