Waking Nightmare

You arrived! You finally arrived! I was ecstatic! I brought all your things inside and took your coat. You were here! I couldn’t contain myself. I gave you the biggest hug I could possibly give.
“What do you want to do first?” I asked. “Should we go for a walk by the lake? Go see the sights?”
You were so tired from the trip, that you plopped down on the couch.
“We can hang out here too.” I said, with biggest, dumb grin on my face.
“You know what the best part is?” I asked you, looking into your eyes.
“What’s that?” You asked in return.
You’re here.” As I leaned forward to kiss you on the chin. You knowingly smiled.
I took your hand, and lead you into the other room. You were smiling at last.
Suddenly, a car horn blared.
I opened my eyes.
I was in my bed, alone. You still weren’t here. You hadn’t arrived.
As I wiped my eyes of sleep, I looked around.
We fought the night before.
We went to sleep frustrated.
You weren’t here to give the biggest hug.
I can’t give you a kiss on your chin.
I can’t lead you into the next room.
The memory of the dream is already fading. I try to hold onto it as long as possible.
Sheer happiness.
*sigh*
Time to start the day.

Whaddya think?

