Perspective

Our enemies exist in vast numbers. They must join us or fall beneath the sword.
Our conflict is never ending. We will fight tomorrow. We will fight next week.
We will fight when my children’s children have their own children.
We will fight. Or we will die.
I have stopped many foes on this day.
I could not stop them all.
The pain was but a flash. Over in an instant.
I do not regret what I have done.
I am saddened by what I could not do.
I never felt the sea breeze on my face.
I never played in the sun with my family.
I never got to see what it was like to be fourteen years old.

Whaddya think?

