This Morning’s Storm (6-19-2012)

We had a storm this morning, before dawn, that was the most violent storm I’ve ever sat through. Back in 1996, we had a storm like this, but its weapon was a down burst. A down burst is vertical blast of air that hits so unbelievably hard and causes so much destruction, you’d think it was a tornado. I was nine when that storm occurred, and I was scared out of my mind.
This one, however, featured straight-line winds. Not quite as chaotic, but every bit as deadly. At about 4:30am, something hit my side of the house. Scared the bejeesus out of me. And the power was out. It was dark, the wind was howling, and there was more lightning than all this year’s storms combined.
When I turned on the weather radio, they didn’t call it a “severe thunderstorm”, like they usually do. They called it a “tremendously dangerous supercell”. That’s not good. At this point, I didn’t know it was straight line winds. I was expecting to be carted off to Oz on an EF4 tornado.
Apparently, this supercell was producing winds in excess of 85 mph. They start tracking hurricanes at 70 mph. Now, for those who don’t know, I live in Minnesota. Middle of the US. No hurricanes here.
Perhaps the scariest thing about this storm, was how fast it was moving. Most storms in the Midwest move across the sky at about 25-35 mph. They last anywhere from 5 minutes to maybe half an hour. This one, however, was streaking through the atmosphere at 60 mph. With that in mind, it still lasted about 25 minutes. This storm was the size of California.
It’s too bad that I didn’t get any good pictures of it. My header could use some local flavor. I took three good videos of it though. mostly the lightning.
When all was said and done, there were trees down everywhere. We didn’t have power here for 8 hours. In fact, 83,000 people lost power to this storm, and there were no tornadoes.
And people wonder why I love thunderstorms…

Whaddya think?

